Syriza victorious in Greece's general election

Syriza (145 MPs) and Independent Greeks (10 MPs) to form government


  • Syriza won with 35% of the votes. 

  • Alexis Tsipras will return as Prime Minister after resigning in late August. 

  • The far right Golden Dawn party finished 3rd with a 6.99% vote share.

  • Turnout was just 56.5%.


Seats breakdown

Share breakdown

Turnout trends

Syriza support falls as Greek question decision to hold early elections

  • A poll published by Greek news provider Efimerida ton Syntakton showed support for Alexis Tsipras' Syriza party has fallen since the last survey conducted by ProRata in July

  • Yesterday, Vassiliki Thanou, the president of Greece's Supreme Court, was sworn is as prime minister in a caretaker capacity. 

  • Ms. Thanou had to take up the post because Greece's political parties could not agree a deal to form a coalition government after Mr. Tsipras resigned late last week. 

Syriza falls short of overall majority, forms coalition

  • The anti-austerity, left wing Syriza party has won the Greek General Election. 

  • Alexis Tsipras's party finished on 36 per cent with 149 seats in Parliament.

  • They were just two seats short of a majority. 

  • Syriza will form a coalition government with Independent Greeks.

  • The government will have 162 MP's (148 Syriza + 13 Ind.Greeks). 

Greek PM concedes defeat

  • Greek Prime Minister Antonis Samaras, leader of the New Democracy party, has conceded defeat following today's general election.

  • Samaras: 'We had to take difficult measures, I told the truth to the Greek people until the very end'. 

  • Samaras congratulated Syriza leader Alexis Tsipras on his party's victory. 

  • It remains too close to call if Syriza will win a majority; currently seems they may fall just short but votes are still being counted.