UK government details referendum voting rules

  • Most EU citizens living in the UK will not be able to vote in the country's referendum on EU membership, which David Cameron's Conservative government have promised to hold by the end of 2017.

  • In a set up similar to UK general elections, British, Irish and Commonwealth citizens will be able to vote.

  • Citizens from Malta and Cyprus will also be able to vote in the in/out referendum.